Haybusa Parts and Service Member Support

Author Topic: Servion's Autronic SM4 Standalone/RCC Stage 1 on E85  (Read 24021 times)

Offline servion

• Site Donor
  • Rider
    • Servion Tuning
Servion's Autronic SM4 Standalone/RCC Stage 1 on E85
« on: March 16, 2010, 01:05:22 AM »
Since I took her out on the maiden voyage tonight, I figure its time to post the build thread.  I'm up here in Colorado at 6500feet elevation, and I want to go 8's.  I ran 10.5 @ 135 n/a up here (pretty good considering we see 7500-900 density altitude during track season and I'm still pretty damn green with the clutch hand :hys:).

I really like the RCC kit and I have been tuning standalone engine management systems since 2001, so I figured its time to step into the bike world.

I started off by installing my old Autronic SM4 onto the bike.  Many people in the busa community seem to not like this system and think it was not possible to work it with stock crank/cam triggers, but I got it to work :)  I think the newer SM4 units have made it much easier, the system understands the stock trigger pattern with no problems at all.  I built an adapter harness to use as much of the OEM wiring as possible (to try and keep it a street bike that's not a MONSTER project).

Took it to the shop and dynoed it on our load bearing Dyno Dynamics dynamometer.  Allows for tuning of all cells in steady state conditions (i.e. partial throttle fuel, timing, etc. all tuned for optimum settings on the dyno).  I was able to replicate the exact same torque curve as the reflash-tuned stock ECU with a better looking and more consistent a/f curve.

With the dash data wire inoperative, I opted to install boost and water temp gauges, as well as my old original PLX wideband I had from my civic project years ago.

Well, here's a few pictures of the build as it progresses.  All motor:

On the dyno with the autronic, all motor:

Starting the teardown: