Haybusa Parts and Service Member Support

Author Topic: GEN2 electronics/ECU swap to GEN1 " IT RUNS GREATE - WOHOOOO "  (Read 12376 times)

Offline Deiv

  • Rider
  • ***
  • Posts: 159
Re: GEN2 electronics/ECU swap to GEN1 .... need info
« Reply #25 on: January 11, 2014, 03:19:15 AM »
Great  :D  Welcome to the club  :thumb: All discussions here on this topic please - we do have the same goal  :tu:
« Last Edit: January 27, 2014, 10:55:40 AM by Deiv »

Offline Deiv

  • Rider
  • ***
  • Posts: 159
Re: GEN2 electronics/ECU swap to GEN1 .... need info
« Reply #26 on: January 27, 2014, 10:54:17 AM »
Got the main harness installed :tu: Left and right controls and instrument panel/gauges rewired !!!
Still few minor things to rewire or remove from Gen2 harness and install again water-meth.injection kit and all the other additional switches/relays/electrics  :id:


Deiv   8)

Offline Deiv

  • Rider
  • ***
  • Posts: 159
Re: GEN2 electronics/ECU swap to GEN1 .... need info
« Reply #27 on: January 28, 2014, 02:59:21 PM »
Is there any difference which way the crank sensor wires are connected in the connector ???   :?

Deiv  :)

Online sportbikeryder

  • OFF TOPIC
  • Universal Post Whore
  • **********
  • Posts: 7220
  • Gender: Male
Re: GEN2 electronics/ECU swap to GEN1 .... need info
« Reply #28 on: January 28, 2014, 05:15:26 PM »
Connect the Blue on the sensor to the green in the harness, and the green on the sensor to the blue on the harness.
Any day on a motorcycle like this that ends just needing parts and labor is a good day.
4.82, 158.67mph 1/8th mile 7.350, 200.32mph 1/4 mile Riding

4.51, 171.75mph 1/8th mile  6.908, 212.83mph 1/4 mile Tuning

Offline Deiv

  • Rider
  • ***
  • Posts: 159
Re: GEN2 electronics/ECU swap to GEN1 .... need info
« Reply #29 on: March 05, 2014, 07:31:53 AM »
From where I have to take the vacuum/boost signal to GM 3 bar. MAP sensor  - from plenum or from under the throttle blades ??? :wink:

Deiv

Online smithabusa

  • Boost By Smith
  • Site Supporter
  • Post Apocalyptic Whore
  • ****
  • Posts: 15348
  • Gender: Male
    • Boost By Smith
Re: GEN2 electronics/ECU swap to GEN1 .... need info
« Reply #30 on: March 05, 2014, 07:38:14 AM »
Exactly as the stock sensor was plumbed
Official Site Supporter

www.boostbysmith.com

Offline Deiv

  • Rider
  • ***
  • Posts: 159
Re: GEN2 electronics/ECU swap to GEN1 .... need info
« Reply #31 on: March 06, 2014, 01:28:17 AM »
Thanks Greg
Never seen under a Gen2 tank so I checked from repair manual and it shows , that from throttels  :thumb:
PS !!! How is your swap progress ???

Deiv :D
« Last Edit: March 06, 2014, 02:27:38 PM by Deiv »

Offline Deiv

  • Rider
  • ***
  • Posts: 159
Re: GEN2 electronics/ECU swap to GEN1 .... need info
« Reply #32 on: March 06, 2014, 02:34:45 PM »
Hei


I started the bike today with Gen2 electrics and it fired up quite easely . At the moment it runs very bad under 5000 rpm and has got no idle - and backfires a lot to the throttles and to the exhaust !!!

 I tried to start the bike without intake plenum on the bike and with stock exhaust - no turbo on the bike  .

 But past 5000 rpm. it revvs quite good  !!!! 

The engine coolant temp gauge is not working properly also with Gen1 clusters !!!
And I think the fan switching from Gen2 ECU is not working properly - atleast Gen1 stock sensor was first to switch the fan on !!!   I jumped the fan for in case from relay during testing . I think I will use the Gen1 sensor to switch the fan relay for to be sure  :?

The FI light is blinking constantly and on Gen1 clusters on little upper displey  it shows several fault codes:
(The Gen2 ECU is already "on the table pre flashed" to eliminate all the not needed sensors  :thumb:)

      C25   -    ignition signal #2

      C31   -   GPS signal   ( I put new Gen2  GPS sensor in )

      C33  -   primary injector signal #2

      C35   -   primary injector signal #4

      C41   -   fuel pump control system ( I use the original fuel pump wires to switch the extra relay to  the pump strait from battery voltage .  Like I had it with Gen1 ECU )

      C42   -   ignition switch signal  (immobilizer)


All the other stuff is OK !!!     : )   

At least it starts - little progress  .


Deiv   :wink:
« Last Edit: March 06, 2014, 02:39:41 PM by Deiv »

Offline Deiv

  • Rider
  • ***
  • Posts: 159
Re: GEN2 electronics/ECU swap to GEN1 .... need info
« Reply #33 on: March 07, 2014, 12:09:14 AM »
I use the GSXR 1000 cam pos.sensor with Gen2 ECU  -  does it matter which way the sensors wires should direct - left or right  :?  I read from some topic , that the wires should point to left (frame side )  . And the sensor picup tip has a cut edge .

Deiv   :)

Online sportbikeryder

  • OFF TOPIC
  • Universal Post Whore
  • **********
  • Posts: 7220
  • Gender: Male
Re: GEN2 electronics/ECU swap to GEN1 .... need info
« Reply #34 on: March 07, 2014, 07:19:04 AM »
Try adding more fuel down low. Mine was backfiring alot when I first started it and I ended up needing to add more fuel.


Mine only has the lower injectors though (ID1000's) , no secondaries.
Any day on a motorcycle like this that ends just needing parts and labor is a good day.
4.82, 158.67mph 1/8th mile 7.350, 200.32mph 1/4 mile Riding

4.51, 171.75mph 1/8th mile  6.908, 212.83mph 1/4 mile Tuning

Offline Deiv

  • Rider
  • ***
  • Posts: 159
Re: GEN2 electronics/ECU swap to GEN1 .... need info
« Reply #35 on: March 08, 2014, 01:51:50 AM »
I`ll try that  :thumb:
I also use only 4 lower injectors  - Bosch EV-14  850 cc.

Offline Deiv

  • Rider
  • ***
  • Posts: 159
Re: GEN2 electronics/ECU swap to GEN1 .... need info
« Reply #36 on: March 11, 2014, 06:05:12 AM »
Success :D

Increased fuel pressure a little ( I can`t flash the ECU myself) and it stopped backfireing  :tu:
 Also I turned the GSXR 1000 cam sensor around (wires point to the right now )  and bike runs OK .

PS !!! Interesting thing is,that when the cam sensor was installed wrong , the bike was sputtering a lot and was throwing a lot of blue engine oil smoke from exhaust , but now it`s not doing that anymore  :thumb: Runs quite clean and revvs good  and is not blue smokeing :D
 How can the engine burn oil , when just not working smoothly  :?

Now will install the turbo/plenum/up-pies and other stuff on and up to the dyno ASAP  :bike:

Deiv  8)
« Last Edit: March 11, 2014, 09:11:44 AM by Deiv »

Online sportbikeryder

  • OFF TOPIC
  • Universal Post Whore
  • **********
  • Posts: 7220
  • Gender: Male
Re: GEN2 electronics/ECU swap to GEN1 .... need info
« Reply #37 on: March 11, 2014, 07:47:34 AM »
Glad you got it going.

The oil smoke could just be from sitting and never getting it very hot to burn it off.
Any day on a motorcycle like this that ends just needing parts and labor is a good day.
4.82, 158.67mph 1/8th mile 7.350, 200.32mph 1/4 mile Riding

4.51, 171.75mph 1/8th mile  6.908, 212.83mph 1/4 mile Tuning

Offline Deiv

  • Rider
  • ***
  • Posts: 159
Re: GEN2 electronics/ECU swap to GEN1 .... need info
« Reply #38 on: April 30, 2014, 12:26:53 AM »
Overall runs great with Gen2 ECU/harness  :D
MAP based fuelling is totally different - bike runs so smoooooth   :tu:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wYN_HQuBG9U
 http://www.upload.ee/image/3972424/DSCN1518.JPG
Still need Gen2 clusters cuz the coolant temp. gauge is not working and fuel level and tacco are acting up also sometimes  :? And the FI codes appear and disappear during rideing  :|
    And when it gets really hot,like in traffic jam,then it statrs to lean up a little while in idle and won`t revv up so good anymore. But as soon as it gets to free traffic - all is well again  :bike:

http://nagi.ee/photos/arendaja/23304083/in-set/385231/

Deiv
« Last Edit: April 30, 2014, 12:33:08 AM by Deiv »

Online Oz Booster

  • Site Donor
  • Mad Post Whore
  • *
  • Posts: 3841
  • aka Maj T
Re: GEN2 electronics/ECU swap to GEN1 .... need info
« Reply #39 on: April 30, 2014, 11:55:59 PM »
Never realy look into the mods section
My gen1-2 conversion works great , its the management i used during the 2012 LSR season at Bonneville getting me both scta and FIM records in the 250's
using gen 1 head and secondarys in the plenum, modified gen 1 rotor , now with a hi output stator and reg

Going to start another conversion on a similar setup real soon  :D
Official Site Donor

Offline Deiv

  • Rider
  • ***
  • Posts: 159
Re: GEN2 electronics/ECU swap to GEN1 .... need info
« Reply #40 on: May 08, 2014, 04:58:19 AM »
Still in search for Gen2 clusters/speedoblock - if somebody has a idea where to get one with good price , then Im opened for offers  :D

 And I wrapped the MAP sensor into heat resistant wrapping and bike runs OK even when it`s getting hot !!!  Maby the problem is, that I have a really cheap GM 3 bar. map sensor replica  :?
What sensors are You guys useing on Your bikes - replicas or only GM original part ???
Part # or link of the good MAP sensor would be good info  :thumb:

Deiv   :bike:
« Last Edit: May 08, 2014, 05:00:04 AM by Deiv »

Online Oz Booster

  • Site Donor
  • Mad Post Whore
  • *
  • Posts: 3841
  • aka Maj T
Keep haunting ebay for the gauges
they fit on the gen 1 bracket with minimal mods, but you will need to cutout some of the bracket backing before bolting them down , you will see what needs cutting or spacing up when you get them

never had an issue i noticed with any map sensors, but i do avoid the cheapest
Official Site Donor

Offline TurboGen2

  • Post Whore
  • ****
  • Posts: 959
  • Gender: Male
  • Molon Labe
OZ did you have any big problems using the secondary injectors in the plenum? I have everything needed except stator for my gen1 to gen2 electronics conversion. Running an RCC billet a/w with 1000cc secondaries and stock primaries. PM me if you could OZ for any pics or any added tidbits to help watch out for would be great!
When injustice becomes law, Resistance becomes DUTY! -Thomas Jefferson

Online sportbikeryder

  • OFF TOPIC
  • Universal Post Whore
  • **********
  • Posts: 7220
  • Gender: Male
OZ did you have any big problems using the secondary injectors in the plenum? I have everything needed except stator for my gen1 to gen2 electronics conversion. Running an RCC billet a/w with 1000cc secondaries and stock primaries. PM me if you could OZ for any pics or any added tidbits to help watch out for would be great!

You can use a gen1 rotor and stator. Just need to remove a tooth from the rotor to make it 24-2 instead of 24-1
Any day on a motorcycle like this that ends just needing parts and labor is a good day.
4.82, 158.67mph 1/8th mile 7.350, 200.32mph 1/4 mile Riding

4.51, 171.75mph 1/8th mile  6.908, 212.83mph 1/4 mile Tuning

Offline TurboGen2

  • Post Whore
  • ****
  • Posts: 959
  • Gender: Male
  • Molon Labe
Ok i knew about the removing a gear, thought i still needed a gen 2 stator! Sweet the helps sportbikeryder
When injustice becomes law, Resistance becomes DUTY! -Thomas Jefferson

Online sportbikeryder

  • OFF TOPIC
  • Universal Post Whore
  • **********
  • Posts: 7220
  • Gender: Male
Ok i knew about the removing a gear, thought i still needed a gen 2 stator! Sweet the helps sportbikeryder
The stator and crank pickup are compatible. You will need a different cam sensor though as the GEN1 is a VR sensor and the GEN2 is a Hall Effect.
Any day on a motorcycle like this that ends just needing parts and labor is a good day.
4.82, 158.67mph 1/8th mile 7.350, 200.32mph 1/4 mile Riding

4.51, 171.75mph 1/8th mile  6.908, 212.83mph 1/4 mile Tuning

Offline TurboGen2

  • Post Whore
  • ****
  • Posts: 959
  • Gender: Male
  • Molon Labe
yep already have a gen2 cover and sensor with gen2 cams when i go to install everything! waiting for r1 rims to get back from getting polished and i have my forks torn apart so i can lower them. isnt there an easy button i can push and everything will be poooof, done?! lol
« Last Edit: May 11, 2014, 02:23:16 PM by TurboGen2 »
When injustice becomes law, Resistance becomes DUTY! -Thomas Jefferson

Online Oz Booster

  • Site Donor
  • Mad Post Whore
  • *
  • Posts: 3841
  • aka Maj T
Plenum secondarys worked great, just changed out and extended the injector clips to suit my Deka injectors on the secondarys and put Kehin injector clips on the primarys and tuned from there

pm me your email and i will send my map as a starter, my secondarys are much smaller being 650cc but you can adjust from where they stage in
and my motor is 1407, again not perfect for your combo but a starting point
Official Site Donor

Offline motocross485

  • Rider
  • ***
  • Posts: 24
I know this is a old post but I need some help. I have a gen 1 motor with all the Gen 2 conversion. I have gen 1 395 385 cams with a brocks offset pin degreed at 106 108. I have a 08 gsxr cam sensor with wires towards frame. Gen 2 rotor and stator . All gen 2 sensors. 3 bar map sensor. The bike has a gt35 turbo with a ultra plenum and 80lb secondary injectors. Stock gen 1 primary injectors. We are having hell for some reason getting this bike to run decent and make some power. ..it will free rev great but under a load it just breaks up and runs like poo. Any help please and thank you very much.

Offline motocross485

  • Rider
  • ***
  • Posts: 24
Sorry forgot to put it's throwing a cam code for some reason and it's acting like the ignition is bouncing under a load. We checked all wires and all connections.