Haybusa Parts and Service Member Support

Author Topic: Have a few Q's about purchase  (Read 2691 times)

Offline txz0603

• New User!
  • Enthusiast
Have a few Q's about purchase
« on: November 09, 2014, 05:31:36 PM »
About to buy 1st busa. Ive been riding for over 20 years so its not my first bike or 1st sport bike. Last bike was a built 04 1000RR. I do have a few questions about some of the bikes im looking at that are more busa specific.

THe bikes in question are a 00 with 12k miles. Although the owner says he bought it in Toyoko in 07, seems like it dont ad up but what do i know. (blue title)

Second is an 06 with 40k miles. (blue title)
Third is an 07 with 8k miles. (rebuilt title)

All have varying mods from lowered, stretched, exhaust, air filters and such. no engine mods to speak of.

My question is this, what are the things to look out for when dealing with these specific bikes. Also is any one better than the other when regarding the year vs mileage or all the above. Thank you

Offline HOS

• OFF TOPIC
  • Post Apocalyptic Whore
Re: Have a few Q's about purchase
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2014, 01:31:43 AM »
Although the motors and gearboxes on these are robust, service history is important. Regular oil changes etc.
Low mileage older bikes are not unusual or more recent high mileage bikes.
40k is not a lot on a Busa as long as its been regularly serviced and oil level maintained.

With modified air filters and race exhausts, they should have been remapped for fuelling to avoid fuelling issues which over time can cause engine damage.

Not many factory recall's except the cam chain tensioner on early models which should be logged with Suzuki US. I think it was pre 2001?

Check: chain, sprocket, tyre, pads and brake rotor wear, they do eat em.
The Busa is tyre sensitive and even slight wear on the front can make the bike feel unsettled on the road. They eat tyres anyway like you wouldn't imagine.