Haybusa Parts and Service Member Support

Author Topic: I want to lower busa  (Read 7171 times)

Offline •Khandy•Rhed•Bhusa•

• Post Whore
I want to lower busa
« on: March 16, 2005, 02:31:49 AM »
I want to lower the busa about 2-3 inches in the front. I understand a Triple tree set will take care of this?

I might lower the rear aswell so 'dog bones' will take care of this?

I have No experience at all pertaining to motorcycle suspension etc. I am doing research on this aswell, but I can not find accurate searches using the search within the site. I will post back what I know, but I have a ? how hard is it to install these parts yourself and time?

btw, I just want the lowered look for street riding, daily driver. I plan to gradually go drag route with the bike. Thanks all

Offline the shredder#3

• Rider
re lowering
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2005, 06:18:45 AM »
2 to 3 inches at the front is to low for street riding.
If you do a wheelie at all & it comes down you have full travel in your shock's & you can damage your sump,pipes, oil cooler & front guard.
so be carefull I found out the hard way.
cya shane
HOME OF AUSTRALIAS FIRST GHETTO KIT.

Offline HOLLYWOOD

• Post Master
I want to lower busa
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2005, 03:09:39 PM »
I, personally, wouldn't go more than 1.5" up front and place the bolt in the middle hole of the rear dogbones if you plan to ride on the street at all....
If you go lower, you're asking for trouble.....

Offline Kirk

• OFF TOPIC
  • Universal Post Whore
I want to lower busa
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2005, 04:44:44 PM »
You can't lower the front much without having expensive parts running into things that can break them. You can dump the rear end with dog bones up to about 3", but then the steering angles will be so chopped out that it's gonna handle like a sinking freighter. And it will drag parts in corners like a Harley Briggs&Stratton.

Is it really that important to impress other people?
-Kirk

• Post Whore
I want to lower busa