Haybusa Parts and Service Member Support

Author Topic: STEP BY STEP INSTRUCTIONS TO LOWER U'RE BIKE  (Read 3623 times)

Offline Shamrock

• Post Apocalyptic Whore
    • Shamrock Racing
STEP BY STEP INSTRUCTIONS TO LOWER U'RE BIKE
« on: July 04, 2005, 11:45:22 PM »
Here I’m going to go over the steps needed to lower your bike. This was for my 2001 1K. I’m doing this because a while ago I wanted to lower my bike but wasn’t sure what was involved. It’s easier than I thought. I wished that a write up was available. But anyway, I took pictures, so maybe this will help someone else out, so here goes. I’m no expert, and this was the first time I’ve done this, so if u have other things to add, don’t be shy.

If any of u think this should be a sticky(since this is the drag racing forum), speak up, and hopefully the mods will help us out.

First, lets talk about the front. There are two simple options available that I know of. First, u can drop your forks through the trees. This is a simple process and u can do it in about 20 minutes or so. Or u can buy a strap and to pull your frame down towards the brake calipers(for track use only). Keep in mind that the strap will only allow u to pull the front down so far. So the height of your forks through your trees will determine how far down u can pull your bike with your strap.

I did a combination of both, with dropping the forks through one inch, and also pulling the front down with a strap. With both these mods, I was able to drop the front approximately 4 inches. If u plan on riding your bike on the street, don’t drop it too much through the forks. AND THE STRAP SHOULD ONLY BE USED DURING RACING, cause steering sucks, and your suspension basically isn’t working anymore.

To install the strap:
1.)Remove these bolts.

2.) Install strap loop, and run up along side the frame, between the gas tank bolts, and the steering head, and around to the other side. Make sure to run the strap underneath any lines or wires.