Haybusa Parts and Service Member Support

Author Topic: DIY salt racer Oz style  (Read 23481 times)

Offline hawkwind

• Rider
DIY salt racer Oz style
« on: November 27, 2006, 12:39:36 AM »
Back in 1999 this 50yo fossil, had a flash of shit to the brain ,I had just discovered the DLRA ran a bonneville style race on our own salt lake ,I attended for just one day back then and was hooked ,I had many years previously read about a bloke named Burt Munro (late 60's ) and so my quest for the worlds fastest something began , 99 was a good year because that was the release date of the now famous Hayabusa , and became the base of what I hoped would become ' worlds fastest suzuki' unfortunatly it happened so did every man and his dog ,and they all had bigger check books than me ,or sponsers or both ,history shows that the top speed bar is now at a very high level . Well Im just an average Joe ,electrican  by trade with only a very modest budget ,so right from the start if I wanted to race ,I would have to do everything myself where ever posible.
This is a short history of my attempt to be 'worlds fastest suzuki'and  my it takes forever shit box project 

The start

this was the origional busa  it was not up to 200 mph despite the hype at the time

Stage 2

I added a small nitrous system (80 shot) and some other changes to aero , this bike got me into the 200 mph club (DLRA) 2004, but the yanks had by this date pushed the outright speed well into the 250"s and I was just not in the game  :(

Stage 3

2005 's effort promised much ,delievered SFA ,4 stages of nitrous up to 300HP extra ,plagued by ignition gremlins , big nitrous backfires and radiator problems , put the busa to bed and for 06 finished off and old school project I had started 5 years earlier

the ice cream truck managed 160+ mph without the nitrous only 2 runs as the lake was flooded for most of this years speed week , John Noonan (speedking) begged me for a ride but I had to turn him down