Haybusa Parts and Service Member Support

Author Topic: My New toy! 71 classic muscle 460+hp  (Read 1572 times)

Offline •Khandy•Rhed•Bhusa•

• Post Whore
My New toy! 71 classic muscle 460+hp
« on: September 21, 2008, 11:23:17 AM »
1971 Chevelle Malibu SS

This car has been in the family for a while. it is baby's mamma 'mammas' car that once was 'her' brothers. If all that makes any since ahahah. The car started out as a chevelle malibu and he restored it with original parts to an ss. He passed away sometime and the car was kept. This car once was offered 20,000$ on the spot, here in Houston. But it has sentimental value. I hear that he took the car to the track and it whooped up on people. I am new to chevy, I recently sold my 86 5.0 mustang to my 17yr old brother.

Now here is the list of mods that i am told obviously she does not know the full mod list and this is very very little of it lol:
It has an eddlebrock dual quad carburetor setup, 460+ horses, see thru valve covers, hydraulic lifters, MSD ignition system, posi-traction, and dual exhausts.

I am thinking the engine is bored to 383/396, good pistons, cam ??

Oh I am buying this car for 10k is this a good price? I can't wait to get this bad boy

here is pictures of the car

71 chevelle ss

Offline DWB

• Post Whore
Re: My New toy! 71 classic muscle 460+hp
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2008, 11:50:47 AM »
Looks like a solid car, although some of the pics look old.  I'm not a Chevy guy, but a friend bought a very similar Chevelle and I'd say 10k is a good price.  He had more in his by the time it was in as good of shape as yours.  I don't know about the desireability of a 71 model compared to some of the older ones so that may have a slight impact on value. 

No offense, but if I had a penny for every "400+ hp" car out there I'd be retired.  A quick trip to the strip will give you an idea what kind of hp it's making.

Offline gnd111

• Post Apocalyptic Whore
  • Fried Chicken and Gasoline...